Family Time

I took an unintentional break from blogging while my brother and his family were visiting from Alaska for about 10 days. My brother, sister-in-law, and their oldest son, who had been living here in Minnesota since August, have returned to Alaska, but the two younger boys will be here for most of the month.

Rest assured, however, that I haven’t been taking a break from genealogy! I’ve made some discoveries on my dad’s side that I’ll posting about soon.

My original plan for learning about my ancestors and keeping track of some of the information was a set of notebooks, one for each grandparent. What I’m finding, however, is that I’ve sort of been recording my findings all over. Sometimes in my mom’s database if I’m on my own laptop, sometimes in my notebooks, sometimes just bookmarking a page on FamilySearch until I can deal with it later. It’s becoming a little confusing. So I ended up starting a tree with my own Ancestry.com account.

Even though I’m referring to the research my mom has already done to get the ball rolling, it has still been a bit more fun for me to put it all in myself and see what Ancestry finds for me, rather than just using my mom’s file. Her online file also doesn’t have sources attached, which is part of what I want to change with my file. It’s super helpful that I can attach many census records to all the individuals listed at once. I’ve figured out a few of the quirks of doings things this way, like how to edit citations so I don’t have three different “Arrival” facts. I’ve been impressed that Ancestry found a census record for me where the name was indexed as “Niederholt” rather than “Wiederholt.”

An added bonus is the recent iPad/iPhone app for Ancestry; it’s fantastic that I can make updates there and they’ll sync up online. I can’t wait to see how the two-way sync with Family Tree Maker 2012 will work too. Now I just have to figure out how to pay for an Ancestry subscription when my 14-day trial runs out.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 442 other followers

