January Goals and General 2012 Goals

I haven’t been “doing” genealogy all that long, really only deciding to take a stab at it last April. So, I didn’t have any 2011 goals, though I accomplished quite a lot for my first nine months of genealogy.

In 2011 I started this blog, I worked like mad on an Ancestry.com member tree, attended my first national and local genealogy conferences, and started and completed the Boston University Online Genealogical Certificate Program (I’m patiently waiting for the verification I actually earned the certificate). Somewhere along the line I discovered that staying away from genealogy, for the most part, because it was my mom’s thing was one of the silliest mistakes I could have make. How much time I lost! But maybe it was meant to be this way, because if I hadn’t discovered my passion at the time I did, perhaps I wouldn’t have realized it’s what I want to do professionally.

Right now I’m nearing the end of 10 days off from work. I haven’t accomplished everything I wanted to, but I did do at least a couple of things that were part of my January 2012 goals.

  • Join my local APG chapter (I also joined the Second Life chapter, which wasn’t part of my plan, though I had been thinking it might be fun to get involved with the Second Life genealogy community).
  • Order the National Genealogical Society‘s Home Study Course. You’d think I’d have had enough education for a while, but while the BU program is pretty rigorous and I think I did pretty well, it also proved to me that there are some deficiencies in my experience and knowledge base. I actually ordered this at the end of December, received it a few days ago, and I’ve read a large part of Lesson 1.

A few other things I’d like to do yet in January include:

  • Visit the Chisago County Historical Society and/or other places in Chisago County, which is where a good part of my Swedish immigrant ancestors ended up. (This is about a 45-minute drive from where I live.)
  • Come up with a name for my genealogy business.
  • Edit my APG profile to be listed in the directory, once I actually receive my BU certificate (assuming I do). I have no idea at this point what to write for the biography section.
  • Start working on business stationery templates.
  • Start working on an idea I have for making “click-and-type” macros for census citations in Microsoft Word. I know it can be done because I’ve done this sort of thing for my job, I just need to do it.
  • Attempt to get through the first lesson or two of the NGS Home Study Course.

Overall 2012 goals include:

  • Once I have a bit more experience with archives and that sort of thing, sign up for ProGen.
  • Work on my “real” tree in RootsMagic. I’ve started this, but because I’m trying to document and include digital images of everything as I go, it’s going to take a while! My Ancestry.com Member Tree is very documented, but I’m not going to add things there (for the most part, anyway) that aren’t available on Ancestry, like I will in my “real” database.
  • Blog more. I don’t want to set a random number of posts I can’t live up to, but overall I’d like to post at least twice a week.
  • Add surname pages to this blog.
  • Start delving into client work.
  • Complete the NGS Home Study Course.
  • I’d love to attend one of the summer institutes, though I’m not sure it’ll work out financially.
  • Attend at least one national conference. (I have no idea which one. RootsTech is out of the question, NGS is only a slim possibility, and FGS is a little far to make transportation affordable.)
  • Attend the local conference in October. Josh Taylor is the principal speaker. I won’t be missing it. I also won’t be the youngest person in the room! (I’m sort of kidding. I don’t think I was the youngest person at the conference this past fall, but it sure felt like it sometimes.)

2 Comments

  1. CapitalBabs said,

    January 8, 2012 at 3:03 PM

    Looking forward to seeing how you check stuff off! Good goals to have.

  2. Kristie Strum said,

    January 8, 2012 at 6:43 PM

    Of course, those are just my genealogy goals; I have a bunch of others for my life in general. And I realized that I forgot a couple things, so I might have a revised general 2012 list. I probably shouldn’t try to multitask while writing…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 442 other followers

