Back in the Saddle

One year ago tomorrow, I started a new job. The last time I posted here I mentioned “something nongenealogy-related” that I was dealing with, which keeping me from the blog. That something was searching for a new place at which to earn a paycheck.

What I didn’t realize was that I would find such an awesome job. It has plenty of challenge and there are new things to learn and understand every day. However, I haven’t had much of my brain left over for genealogy work. I’ve done a tiny amount of client research (yay!) and an even tinier amount of personal research in the past year, but that’s it. I did attend a local genealogy conference in October and it was inspiring, but inspiration isn’t quite enough when there’s not anything left in the tank.

At some point during the day today I felt something I haven’t for a long time: the desire to get home and do some genealogy! For starters, I had to copy all of my documents from a USB drive to my new Macbook so I could back them up on my new backup drive. Thank goodness for the USB drive, since I recently lost the Macbook I bought just last summer to an orange juice incident.

Right now I’m attempting to catch up a little with my tree on Ancestry.com. 728 record hints? Oy.

I have a really bad feeling about the National Genealogical Society Home Study Course I purchased in January of 2012 and haven’t even started yet thanks to the crazy time.

I have a really good feeling about attending the FGS Conference next month. I can’t wait!

2 Comments

  1. capitalbabs said,

    July 17, 2013 at 8:10 PM

    YAY for motivation and inspiration!! there really needs to be stores for that so I could stock up…

  2. Kristie Strum said,

    July 17, 2013 at 8:29 PM

    Indeed. I could use it for a few things besides genealogy too, but I’ll take a little at a time.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 442 other followers

